Legislative Process

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


City Government is the true local government; it is closest to the people and voters. The government style in Santa Maria is organized to make this closeness most effective and efficient in rendering services to its people. The City of Santa Maria is a municipal corporation governed by an elected Council of five members.

The Council-Manager form of municipal government is used, with the policy being set by the elected body and carried out by an appointed City Manager. Policy setting is not an automatic process; it requires recognition of need, study of all essential facts, free exchange of ideas, and decision.

Council members carry voter viewpoints from the idea phase to introduction, discussion, decision and action. The City Manager acts as legs and library for the Council, gathering facts, reporting and recommending. After the facts have been assembled, the Council makes a decision based upon their knowledge of the community and its people.

The Santa Maria City Government style will continue to be good, representative government and meet the challenges and problems of our day so long as there is strong interest and active participation on the part of the voting public.


The City Council is comprised of five members, one (1) Mayor and four (4) Council Members. The Mayor and the four members of the City Council are elected for 4-year terms by the electorate. The Mayor presides at Council meetings and serves as the executive and ceremonial host of our city government.

The City Council, itself, sits as the governing board of the Parking Authority and the Housing Advisory and Appeals Board.